British F3 - BRDC British F3 the place to race to become an award finalist!

Next Event:
Oulton Park
11 / 13 April

Next Event:
Oulton Park
11 / 13 April

BRDC British F3 the place to race to become an award finalist!

BRDC British F3 the place to race to become an award finalist!

Monday 30 September 2019

With all four of this year’s Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award finalists having raced in BRDC British F3 at some point in their careers, it is becoming ever more clear that Britain’s leading single-seater championship is the place to be to develop driving skills and receive mainstream recognition.

Since the series was launched as BRDC F4 in 2013, one of the world’s most famous motorsport awards has been won four times by a driver racing in the category that season - George Russell, Will Palmer, Lando Norris and Tom Gamble.

Over 60 percent of all nominees (21 finalists) over that time have either raced in the category that season, or in years previously, further enhancing BRDC British F3’s reputation as a championship that significantly aids driver development.

Three drivers from the inaugural season of BRDC F4 were included in the final six for 2013 (Jake Hughes, Seb Morris and Charlie Robertson), while in 2014, George Russell and Sennan Fielding were finalists, with Russell taking home the prize. Morris was also nominated again.

In 2015, Will Palmer claimed the prize, while Hughes was nominated for the second time.

BRDC F4 evolved into BRDC British F3 in 2016, while the number of finalists was reduced from six to four. Lando Norris won the award, while his rivals from that season - Ricky Collard and Toby Sowery - were finalists, with Fielding receiving his second nomination also.

2017 champion Enaam Ahmed was a finalist after his record-breaking British F3 season that year, as was Harrison Scott, who competed in selected races in 2016. Dan Ticktum, a competitor in the 2016 British F3 Autumn Trophy, was the recipient of the award.

Tom Gamble kept up British F3’s proud record in the award after taking home the prize in 2018, while Jamie Caroline, a multiple British F3 race winner, was also a finalist.

Finally, 2019 BRDC British F3 front-runners Johnathan Hoggard and Ayrton Simmons have made the final four this year, while Ahmed makes an award return too, with 2018 race winner Jamie Chadwick also included. But who will win this year’s prize? We’ll find out in December!

Award finalists since 2013, winners shown in brackets:

2013: (Matt Parry), Jack Aitken, Jake Hughes, Chris Middlehurst, Seb Morris, Charlie Robertson
2014: (George Russell), Alex Albon, Ben Barnicoat, Sennan Fielding, Seb Morris*, Harrison Scott
2015: (Will Palmer), Jack Aitken, Ben Barnicoat, Ricky Collard, Jake Hughes*, Toby Sowery
2016: (Lando Norris), Ricky Collard, Sennan Fielding*, Toby Sowery
2017: (Dan Ticktum*), Enaam Ahmed, Max Fewtrell, Harrison Scott*
2018: (Tom Gamble), Jamie Caroline, Max Fewtrell, Kiern Jewiss
2019: Enaam Ahmed*, Jamie Chadwick*, Johnathan Hoggard, Ayrton Simmons

Bold = BRDC F4/British F3 competitors in that season
* = competitors who had raced in British F3 at some point in their careers before nomination

Other Recent News