British F3 - Frederick takes crushing victory in opening Oulton encounter

Follow BRDC British F3 on social media

Follow BRDC British F3 on social media

Frederick takes crushing victory in opening Oulton encounter

Frederick takes crushing victory in opening Oulton encounter

Saturday 1 August 2020

Carlin's Kaylen Frederick claimed the first race victory of the delayed 2020 BRDC British F3 season, with a supreme performance in the opening race of the Oulton Park weekend.

Frederick started second on the grid, but benefited from a false start from pole man Louis Foster to jump around the outside of the Double R driver at Old Hall corner, and then dominated thereafter. Foster finished second on the road, but was handed a 10 second penalty for his issue at the start and dropped to 14th, promoting Douglas Motorsport duo Kiern Jewiss and Ulysse De Pauw to the top-three.

Frederick's teammate Nazim Azman claimed fourth ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing's Josh Skelton, with Hillspeed's Sasakorn Chaimongkol sixth, just three tenths ahead of Carlin's Brazilian charge Guilherme Peixoto. 

Hillspeed's Oliver Clarke claimed eighth, with Manaf Hijjawi taking ninth for Douglas Motorsport ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing's Nico Varrone.

Drama started before the lights even went out, with Lanan's Bart Horsten, due to start ninth, falling to the tail of the field on the formation lap, forcing him to start from the back of the grid. At the start, the red start lights were held for a long time, with pole man Foster jumping forwards, stopping and then resuming once the lights were extinguished. Frederick got a strong run down to Old Hall on lap one, and moved round the outside to take the lead, but it was likely that Foster would be investigated, with a penalty confirmed moments later. 

Frederick's strong opening lap meant he built a lead of almost a second immediately, with Foster still running second on the road and fending off Jewiss and De Pauw, with the Douglas pair passing Azman on the opening tour. 

Carlin's American driver extended his lead to 1.6 seconds before the safety car was deployed at the end of lap three, with Lanan's Josh Mason embedded in the barriers at Old Hall corner, moments after his teammate Piers Prior had pitted to repair a damaged front wing. 

The safety car returned to the pits at the end of lap six, and Frederick made an ideal restart to lead by over 1.2 seconds at the end of lap seven, with Foster continuing to fend off Jewiss. Frederick was relentless as he pull away, setting a string of fastest laps and stretching the lead to over 2.8 seconds at the end of lap 10, and ultimately taking the chequered flag 3.365s clear of Foster, who dropped to 14th when his penalty was applied. Jewiss therefore took second place, over a second clear of De Pauw. 

Further down the field, there was an entertaining battle for what would become seventh place, with Peixoto holding off the Hitech GP car of Reece Ushijima, with the battle resolved on lap 10 when the AMerican-Japanese driver dropped to 11th place, promoting Clarke, Hijjawi and Varrone up the order. 

Benjamin Pedersen claimed 12th place for Double R Racing, having started 17th, with Horsten recovering to 13th place and just a couple of tenths behind the American at the chequered flag. Horsten just edged Foster, who on adjusted times was classified 0.202s behind, and 1.8 seconds ahead of Hitech's Kush Maini, with Prior the final finisher after his wing change, and therefore taking pole position on the provisional reversed grid for race two. 

BRDC British F3 Championship, Oulton Park race one result:

1. Kaylen Frederick, Carlin, 11 laps
2. Kiern Jewiss, Douglas Motorsport, +3.960s
3. Ulysse De Pauw, Douglas Motorsport, +5.207s
4. Nazim Azman, Carlin, +5.980s
5. Josh Skelton, Chris Dittmann Racing, +6.892s
6. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +8.430s
7. Guilherme Peixoto, Carlin, +8.758s
8. Oliver Clarke, Hillspeed, +9.376s
9. Manaf Hijjawi, Douglas Motorsport, +10.742s
10. Nico Varrone, Chris Dittmann Racing, +11.654s
11. Reece Ushijima, Hitech GP, +12.284s
12. Benjamin Pedersen, Double R Racing, +12.889s
13. Bart Horsten, Lanan Racing, +13.162s
14. Louis Foster, Double R Racing, +13.364s
15. Kush Maini, Hitech GP, +15.217s
16. Piers Prior, Lanan Racing, +15.896s
DNF. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, 3 laps completed

Other Recent News