British F3 - Swede success for Ericsson with first British F3 win in eventful race three

Swede success for Ericsson with first British F3 win in eventful race three

Swede success for Ericsson with first British F3 win in eventful race three

Sunday 19 May 2019

Double R Racing's Hampus Ericsson claimed a maiden BRDC British F3 win in the final race of the weekend at Snetterton, as he capitalised on first lap drama in Norfolk that eliminated three front-runners.

Carlin's Clement Novalak finished second as he extended his championship lead and applied late pressure to Ericsson, while team mate Kaylen Frederick took third, also fending off constant pressure from Chris Dittmann Racing's Ayrton Simmons.

Manuel Maldonado claimed fifth for Fortec ahead of Chris Dittmann Racing's Nazim Azman, while Douglas Motorsport duo Ulysse De Pauw and Benjamin Pedersen claimed seventh and eighth. Lanan Racing's Josh Mason and Fortec's Kris Wright completed the top-10.

At the start, Johnathan Hoggard made a decent getaway from pole, but Ericsson, brother of ex-F1 racer Marcus, made a better one and swept past the British driver around the outside of Riches. Verhagen was also in a position to challenge and pulled alongside the Fortec driver on the run up to Wilson. Hoggard and Verhagen made contact and Verhagen was forced onto the grass, cutting up the inside of the hairpin and taking out Jewiss and Hoggard as he re-joined.

That brought out the safety car for several laps, while also promoting the remaining drivers up the order, with Novalak rising to second from fifth in the grid, and Frederick up to third from seventh.

The safety car was out for several laps as the cars were cleared, with the race only restarting on lap five.

Ericsson immediately created a gap, with a lead of just under a second at the end of lap five. He increased the gap to a fraction over a second on lap six, but from then on Novalak came back at him, reducing the margin to just under half a second. 

The Swedish driver started the final lap with just eight seconds remaining, with the field just squeezing in the full race distance despite the lengthy safety car period, with Ericsson's winning margin ultimately being 0.672s, with Novalak unable to force a way past on the last lap.

Frederick in third had a race long battle from Simmons to contend with, the duo separated by just a few car lengths in the laps after the restart, and the top four covered by less than two seconds at the chequered flag. 

Maldonado and Azman held their positions throughout the race, while there was a five second gap to De Pauw, who climbed from 11th on the grid to take seventh, with a similar gap back to Pedersen in eighth.

Lanan's Mason recovered from a first lap excursion and nose change to claim a top-10 result in ninth ahead of Fortec's Wright, who claimed his maiden British F3 top-10. 

Carlin's race two winner Lucas Petersson looked on course for a strong seventh place finish, but dropped down the order in the final two laps to 11th. He finished ahead of Pavan Ravishankar who enjoyed some wheel to wheel racing with Sasakorn Chaimongkol at the restart, with Chaimongkol carving his way up to eighth from 16th on the grid with a handful of laps remaining, but ended a luckless weekend with a late trip to the pits to change a punctured tyre, leaving him to finish in 13th.

The top three drivers in the race were presented with their trophies on the podium by BRDC Member Mike Newman. Novalak's podium and Hoggard's retirement means that Novalak holds a 37 point lead heading to Silverstone, with Simmons in third a point ahead of Ericsson.

Post race, two Clerk of the Course Decisions were issued, one of which resulted in the below amended result. Click here for full details. 

BRDC British F3 Championship, Snetterton race three amended result:

1. Hampus Ericsson, Double R Racing, 10 laps
2. Clement Novalak, Carlin, +0.672s
3. Kaylen Frederick, Carlin, +1.545s
4. Ayrton Simmons, Chris Dittmann Racing, +1.952s
5. Manuel Maldonado, Fortec Motorsports, +6.300s
6. Nazim Azman, Chris Dittmann Racing, +7.906s
7. Ulysse De Pauw, Douglas Motorsport, +13.215s
8. Benjamin Pedersen, Douglas Motorsport, +17.983s
9. Josh Mason, Lanan Racing, +24.908s
10. Kris Wright, Fortec Motorsports, +26.335s
11. Pavan Ravishankar, Double R Racing, +29.743s
12. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, +1m39.838s
DNF. Johnathan Hoggard, Fortec Motorsports, 0 laps
DNF. Neil Verhagen, Double R Racing, 0 laps
DNF. Kiern Jewiss, Douglas Motorsport, 0 laps
DQ. Lucas Petersson, Carlin

Other Recent News