British F3 - Hall of fame

Next Event:
Oulton Park
20 / 22 April

Next Event:
Oulton Park
20 / 22 April

Hall of fame

Some of motorsport's finest up and coming talent has filtered through the BRDC British F3 Championship, with many graduates going on to secure roles in F1 teams, as well as racing, and winning in some of the highest echelons of the junior motorsport ladder, as well as establishing careers in top GT championships. Here's just some of our notable recent graduates:

Matheus Leist

Current series: Indycar Series with A.J. Foyt Enterprises

Achievements: 2016 BRDC British F3 Champion, 2017 Indy Lights: 4th overall with three race wins

Leist won the 2016 BRDC British F3 championship in a final round thriller at Donington, and was then signed up to race in Indy Lights in the USA. He impressed with three race wins, including the Indy 500-supporting Freedom 100. He moves to Indycar in 2018 with A.J. Foyt Enterprises. 

George Russell

Current series: 2019 Williams F1 driver

Achievements: 2017 GP3 Champion, 2018 F2 Champion, 2014 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award winner

Russell won the BRDC F4 Championship in 2014, and went on to race in FIA European F3 for two seasons, culminating in a starring performance at Macau in 2016. He moved to GP3 in 2017 and dominated, securing the championship with two races remaining. Signed up to the Mercedes F1 junior programme in 2017, he has carried out several F1 tests, while winning the F2 Championship in 2018. He graduates to F1 with Williams in 2019. 

Lando Norris

Current series: 2019 McLaren F1 driver

Achievements: 2016 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award winner, 2017 FIA European F3 Champion

Norris has taken the motorsport world by storm, and within 12 months of graduating from BRDC British F3, had been signed up by McLaren F1 as their junior driver, made his F1 test debut in Hungary, and dominated the FIA European F3 Championship. He was runner-up in F2 in 2018, and will make his F1 race debut with McLaren in 2019.

Enaam Ahmed

Current series: FIA European F3 Championship with Hitech

Achievements: 2017 BRDC British F3 Champion, McLaren Autosport BRDC Award finalist

In his second season of BRDC British F3, Ahmed dominated. He secured 13 wins from the 24 races and claimed the title with three races remaining. A finalist in the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award, Ahmed was highly courted by European F3 teams and has signed up with Hitech Motorsport ahead of the 2018 season. 

Arjun Maini

Current series: FIA F2 with Trident and Haas F1 Development Driver

Achievements: GP3 race winner, fastest in F2 end of season test at Abu Dhabi with Russian Time

Maini narrowly missed out on the 2014 BRDC F4 title, pipped in the last race by team mate George Russell. After racing in European F3 for a season and a half he graduated to GP3 in 2016 and remained there for 2017, taking his first win at Catalunya. He was also signed up by the Haas F1 team as their Development Driver.

Pietro Fittipaldi

Current series: IndyCar Series with Dale Coyne Racing

Achievements: World Series Formula V8 3.5 Champion 2017, MRF Challenge Formula 2000 Champion 2015-16

The grandson of Emerson Fittipaldi, Pietro has gone on to secure championship titles in the World Series Formula V8 3.5 series and MRF Challenge Formula 2000, and now looks set to move either into Indycar or Formula 2 in 2018.

Jake Hughes

Current series: GP3 Series with ART GP

Achievements: 2013 & 2015 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award finalist

Hughes was the 2013 BRDC F4 Champion, and finished second in the 2015 Formula Renault ALPS championship. Moving to GP3 in 2016 he claimed two wins before switching to FIA European F3 in 2017, taking a win and seven podiums. Hughes returns to GP3 in 2018 with ART GP.

Will Palmer

Current series: Formula Renault Eurocup with R-ACE GP

Achievements: 2015 BRDC F4 Champion, 2015 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award winner, 2017 Formula Renault Eurocup runner-up

Palmer was a dominant BRDC F4 champion in 2015, and claimed the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award in the same year. Moving up to European competition in 2016, he took his first win at Estoril, and then challenged for the title in 2017, taking three wins and seven additional podiums.

Raoul Hyman

Current series: GP3 Series with Campos Motorsport

Achievements: GP3 race winner at Austria 2017

Hyman finished third overall in the 2014 BRDC F4 Championship with four wins, and has since gone on to compete in FIA European F3 and then graduating to GP3 in 2017 with Campos, taking his first win at Austria, establishing himself as a regular top-10 contender. Hyman has also tested F2 machinery.

Harri Newey

Current series: FIA European F3 and LMP2

Achievements: Le Mans Series Asia winner

The son of legendary F1 designer, Adrian Newey, Harri finished second overall in the 2015 BRDC F4 Championship and then graduated to European F3, establishing himself as a regular top-10 challenger. As well as single seaters, Newey has excelled in sports cars and currently sits at the top of the Asian Le Mans Series standings.

Seb Morris

Current series: British GT Championship with Bentley

Achievements: 2017 British GT Champion, 6th in 2017 Daytona 24 Hours

Morris finished second in the BRDC F4 Championship in 2013, and graduated to Formula Renault in Europe, claiming third in the championship in 2014. He graduated to GP3 in 2015 and then moved to British GT in 2016, finishing third in his rookie season, before clinching the title in 2017. He raced at the Daytona 24 Hours in 2017, leading the race for three hours and finishing sixth overall. 

British F3 Champions

2017 - Enaam Ahmed
2016 - Matheus Leist
2014 - Martin Cao
2013 - Jordan King
2012 - Jack Harvey
2011 - Felipe Nasr
2010 - Jean-Eric Vergne
2009 - Daniel Ricciardo
2008 - Jaime Alguersuari
2007 - Marko Asmer
2006 - Mike Conway
2005 - Alvaro Parente
2004 - Nelson Piquet Jr
2003 - Alan van der Merwe
2002 - Robbie Kerr
2001 - Takuma Sato
2000 - Antonio Pizzonia
1999 - Marc Hynes
1998 - Mario Haberfeld
1997 - Jonny Kane
1996 - Ralph Firman
1995 - Oliver Gavin
1994 - Jan Magnussen
1993 - Kelvin Burt
1992 - Gil de Ferran
1991 - Rubens Barrichello
1990 - Mika Hakkinen
1989 - David Brabham
1988 - JJ Lehto
1987 - Johnny Herbert
1986 - Andy Wallace
1985 - Mauricio Gugelmin
1984 - Johnny Dumfries
1983 - Ayrton Senna
1982 - Tommy Byrne
1981 - Jonathan Palmer
1980 - Stefan Johansson
1979 - Chico Serra
1978 - Derek Warwick, Nelson Piquet
1977 - Stephen South. Derek Daly
1976 - Bruno Giacomelli, Rupert Keegan
1975 - Gunnar Nilsson
1974 - Brian Henton
1973 - Ian Taylor, Tony Brise
1972 - Roger Williamson, Rikky van Opel
1971 - Roger Williamson, Dave Walker
1970 - Dave Walker, Tony Trimmer, Carlos Pace
1969 - Emerson Fittipaldi
1968 - Tim Schenken
1967 - Harry Stiller
1966 - Harry Stiller
1965 - Tony Dean, Roy Pike
1964 - Jackie Stewart, Rodney Banting, Sverrir Thoroddsson
1959 - Don Parker
1958 - Trevor Taylor
1957 - Jim Russell
1956 - Jim Russell
1955 - Jim Russell, Henry Taylor
1954 - Les Leston
1953 - Don Parker
1952 - Don Parker
1951 - Eric Brandon